Lifestyle Blogs
Lifestyle links
 
Picture
Highlight of the Day - Free Egyptian food from a new 'street food' style place that's just opened on St Martin's Lane called Koshari Street.  I'd never had anything like it - it had pasta, rice, lentils and other beans topped with a tomato sauce.  I love lentils and beans etc., but I was thinking when I looked at it that it might be a bit flavourless, but it was really delicious.  Not sure if it was partly because it was free, because free things are always better!

Embarrassing Moment of the Day - Stayed so late at work on Thursday (2.30am!) so I could've taken Friday off, but I had a meeting at 10.30.  It wasn't that important, but I thought I'd go in for it, just to show willing and then go home.  I ran in, completely knackered and looking a state, to find the meeting had already started.  I burst in with my coat still on and had to go and sit at the table next to the person who was talking as it was the only seat left.  2 minutes later the meeting finishes.  It was 10-10.30, not 10.30-11.  I'm an idiot.

I did something very brave on Friday! I'm very proud of myself.  I did some stand-up comedy! I talked for 5 minutes at an open mic night about family holidays, caravanning in Hastings, or somewhere on a layby in the Hastings vicinity.  It went pretty well! The audience was very small, but very supportive.  It was at a night aimed at comedians who have only been going for a year or less, called Underdogs at the Blue Posts on Rupert Street in Soho.  Some of my jokes went well, some fell flat on their face, but the big problem was that I didn't ask the friend who came with me to record it, so I have no idea which ones got laughs and which ones didn't! I'm definitely going to do it again, as I had loads of fun and I met some great people - everyone was surprised it was my first time when I told them afterwards, so that was great! I just need to be a bit funnier next time - sort of a key point! I'm working on it!

That's one of my 30 things ticked off though! Go me!




Leave a Reply.