Lifestyle Blogs
Lifestyle links
 
Picture
Well, call me a poofta, but I love me a bit of Eurovision.  It's just so much fun! My favourite, Denmark, won by quite a bit.  She looked a bit scary - she looked ill she was so skinny and pale, but the song was really catchy.  I also liked Iceland, Italy and France.  Italy might have been affected by the fact that I fancied the singer a bit.  Definitely not the case for Iceland! I think the funniest song was Romania - some strange guy singing in a really deep voice, trying (I hope) to be scary, before switching into a super-high pitched voice for a bit of popera, all whilst standing on a platform above a big flowing red dress.  Sweden's skit by the presenter and a comedian about all-things-Swedish was really funny too.  I was laughing along, even though I don't even really know much about Sweden, so I didn't know the stereotypes even, but the humour was great.  The host was wicked, but I get the feeling a lot of the humour would've been lost on some other cultures.  I reckon British and Swedish humour isn't too different.  Graham Norton is great too - really good replacement for Terry.  Just the right amount of sarcy!   Shock of the evening for me was Norway doing so well - I thought that was really forgettable.  Also pretty shocked that the swaying beached whale also known as Bonnie Tyler managed to come 19th! I would've put it further down.  It's embarrassingly poor - maybe it's time to stop auditioning in the ex-music-star pension queue for our Eurovision entries!

Anyway, good news about Denmark winning is that it's not too far away, so I'm thinking I might go and see next year's contest.  I might need to win the lottery first as the tickets are expensive and Denmark is expensive to be in too - I went once and pretty much lived on bread rolls from the supermarket for 4 day




Leave a Reply.